Mumbai Indians Player List, Captain and History

Mumbai Indians Sqaud/Player List, Captain and History

Often standing at the top of the table, Mumbai Indians squad has emerged as one of the best teams in IPL so far with the finest batting lineup and varying world-class bowlers. Currently, it is the most successful team in IPL with 5 trophies. The team was founded in 2008 and is owned by Reliance Industries. Reliance purchased it for 487 crores in 2008. Moreover, The team is captained by Rohit Sharma and is coached by Mahela Jayawardena.

  • Captain: Rohit Sharma
  • Coach: Mahela Jayawardena
  • Owner: Reliance Industries Limited ( Mukesh Ambani and Nita Ambani)
Mumbai Indians Player List, Captain and History

Mumbai Indians Players/Squad List

#Player NameStyle Nationality
1Rohit Sharma (c)Top order BatterIndia
2Jofra ArcherBowlerEngland
3Arshad KhanBowlerIndia
4Jason BehrendorffBowlerAustralia
5Dewald BrevisBatting AllrounderSouth Africa
6Jasprit BumrahBowlerIndia
7Tim DavidMiddle order BatterAustralia
8Ishan KishanWicketkeeper BatterIndia
9Kumar KartikeyaBowlerIndia
10Akash MadhwalBowlerIndia
11Ramandeep SinghMiddle order BatterIndia
12Hrithik ShokeenBowlerIndia
13Tristan StubbsWicketkeeper BatterSouth Africa
14Arjun TendulkarBowlerIndia
15Tilak VarmaBatting AllrounderIndia
16Suryakumar YadavBatterIndia
MI squad list 2023

IPL 2023 Schedule

History of Mumbai Indians Matches (wins/loses)

 MI has played 15 seasons of the IPL of which they have won 5 titles (in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020) so far.

  • 2008: Sixth Mumbai lost their first 4 matches and end their first season of IPL in the sixth position
  • 2009: Seventh Mumbai did not do good in this season either as they had won only 5 matches out of 14. They end this season in the seventh position.
  • 2010: Runners-up With their fierce bowling and batting Mumbai Indians make it to the finals of this season but could not beat CSK in the finals.
  • 2011: Third Mumbai finished in 3rd position this season as they could not beat Royal Challengers Bangalore in the qualifying final.
  • 2012: Fourth CSK beat Mumbai in the eliminator and Mumbai finished fourth at the Table.
  • 2013: Champions Mumbai Indians top-classed everything this season and won their first title. However, after their first title, Sachin Tendulkar announced his IPL retirement.
  • 2014: Fourth Mumbai lost to CSK by seven wickets in the playoffs and ended up in the fourth position in this season.
  • 2015: Champions Mumbai beat CSK in the final to lift their second trophy of the Indian Premier League.
  • 2016: Fifth Mumbai Indians did not qualify for the playoffs, losing their last league game.
  • 2017: Champions MI beat Rising Pune super giant under coach Mahela Jayawardene and secure the IPL trophy for themselves.
  • 2018: Fifth Mumbai lost many close league matches despite many great players in the squad, ending up in the fifth position in the points table.
  • 2019: Champions Mumbai beat CSK in a nail-biting match by one run and won the IPL trophy for 4th time.
  • 2020: Champions Mumbai once again beat Delhi capitals in the final to seal their fifth IPL trophy and be the first team to win 5 IPL titles.
  • 2021: Fifth Mumbai did not qualify for the playoff and ended up in the fifth position in the IPL 2021.
  • 2022: Tenth It was Mumbai’s worst season as they won just four games and end up in the tenth position in the points table.

IPL 2023 Participants

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Royal Challengers Banglore
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Punjab Kings
  • Lucknow Super Giants

Read Also: IPL 2023 Live Points Table, NRR, and Team Positions

Reliance Industries Limited owns Mumbai Indians whose chairman is Mukesh Ambani and Nita Ambani.

Sachin Tendulkar suggested this name and eventually, it was accepted.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *