BPL 2023

BPL 2023

Everyone is waiting eagerly for BPL 2023 season 9 which will be held from January to February 2023. The Bangladesh Premier League is gaining popularity among players and it has become the 16th most-attended premier league in the world.

It is no secret that there are 3 popular cricket leagues in Bangladesh and BPL is among one of them. This BPL has seven excellent teams and these teams have multiple famous players who have made their mark in the cricketing world.

About BPL

This league is a top-notch professional and famous twenty20 cricket league in Bangladesh.The BPL is managed by the Bangladesh Cricket Board and the games are usually played at Dhakka, and Chittagong. Along with this, this league is headed by the Governing Council and GC is appointed by Bangladesh Cricket Board.

On the other hand, finance is divided among the team members and their associations. Moreover, the income earned from the satellite rights, ticket sales, TV and other means are divided among franchises and Bangladesh Cricket Board.

BPL 2023

History of BPL

The Bangladesh Premier League was launched in 2011 by the Bangladesh Cricket Board. The first season was held in February 2012 in Dhaka and Chittagong. Back in the time, The BPL was headed by the chairman of its governing council.

Considering the success of franchise Twenty cricket leagues such as IPL from all across the globe, the BCB announced the replacement of the National Cricket League with a Franchise-based league. On Jan 18, 2012, the BCB made a 6-year, 350 crores deal with the Sports Group to establish a franchise tournament. Subsequently, the league was finalised with 6 franchises from the biggest cities of Bangladesh. At the time of the auction, almost 13 companies participated in the bidding process. However, 6 companies won the winning rights of each club.

Furthermore, the 2020 version of BPL was held directly by the Bangladesh Cricket Board without any franchise involvement. The main reason behind this is that BCB failed to meet the demands placed by different team owners.

After 8 successful editions, the 9th edition is on the way and we can guess that people are waiting desperately.

You might also like: IPL 2023

Who won the Final matches in BPL

We are going to share the details of the winners of the Bangladesh Premier League since it started.

2012 Dhaka Gladiators: The Dhaka Gladiators were the first champions of this league and they played against the Barisal Burners in the final match. The Dhaka Gladiators scored 141 runs in 15 overs and won by 8 wickets.

2013 Dhaka Gladiators: again in 2013, Dhaka Gladiators won the championship trophy. In the final match, they scored 172 runs against the Chittagong kings and defeated them by 43 runs.

2015 Comilla Victorians: in the third season of this popular league, Comilla Victorians defeated Barisal Bulls by 3 wickets in the final match.

2016 Dhaka Dynamites: the Dhaka Dynamites won the match against Rajshahi Kings in the finals. They won by 56 runs and got a champion trophy.

2017 Rangpur Riders: this 5th season of BPL  ended up with Rangpur Riders as champion. The Rangpur Riders team scored 206 while the opposing team did not perform well, scoring only 149 runs.

2019 Comilla Victorians: In the 6th season of BPL, the Comilla Victorians team was declared the winner. This team defeated Dhaka Dynamite by 17 runs and became the champion.

2020 Rajshahi Royals: Rajshahi Royals won for the first time in 2020 by playing against the Khulna Tigers. After winning the toss, the Rajshahi Royals batted first and scored 170/4 runs while the opposing team could only score 149/8 in the chase.

Bangladesh Premier League BPL 9

The Bangladesh Premier League is commonly known as BPL and now its 9th (2022-2023) edition is going to be held so far. This 9th edition will be organised by BCB and this board also decided to increase the number of teams up to 7.

Furthermore, the BCB has announced the schedule of the next 3 editions and the 9th edition will be in the months of January and February.

How many teams will be involved in this league of BPL 2023

As we mentioned earlier, there will be seven different teams involved in the upcoming BPL 9th edition. These teams include Chittagong Vikings, Comilla Vikings, Khulna Titans, Dhaka Dynamites, Rajshahi Kings, Rangpur Riders, and Sylhet Sixers.

Who is the current champion of the BPL

The BPL 8 was organised by Bangladesh Cricket Board and it was won by the Comilla Victorians team. Initially, the season was scheduled to start from March 2021 but due to Covid-19, it rescheduled again from 21 January to 18 February.

In the final match, Comilla Victorians defeated Fortune Barishal by one run. Moreover, Comilla Victorians won the third BPL title due to its amazing performance. The bowling all rounder of Comilla Victorians Sunil Narine won the title of “player of the match” for his all-round performance.

On the other hand, Sakib UL Hasan, the captain of ‘Fortune Barisal’ won the award of “player of the tournament” for his all-round performances.

In a nutshell

It is summed up that BPL 2023 is immensely popular and the 16th most attended league of the world. We have shared all the details of this league to please the cricket lovers. In the end, we will say if you have any query related to BPL 2023, then without any hesitation, write to us in the comments section below.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *